Notice message :Turkish presidential election will be taken place on 24 June 2018 (local time). Please be aware of the forex market changes, especially for Turkish Lira and European Euro, and closely monitor your positions and ensure you have enough margin in the account.

Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA)

What is FATCA?

FATCA stands for the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA). It was introduced in October 2009 and signed into law in March 2010 as part of Hiring Incentives to Restore Employment (HIRE) Act.

FATCA is designed to prevent tax-evasion by U.S. citizens or residents holding foreign accounts or offshore investments. Under the new FATCA regulations, foreign financial institutions (FFIs) must identify U.S. account holders as well as entities under U.S. control (i.e. U.S. persons having a substantial ownership interest in the entity) and provide the IRS with information on their assets, income payments and trade flows during the fiscal year. FATCA regulations generally become effective on or about July 1, 2014.

How does FATCA impact Rakuten Securities HK and its clients?

To be FATCA compliant, Rakuten Securities HK must register its own FFIs with the IRS. In addition, FATCA regulations require Rakuten Securities HK to review existing onboarding and withholding processes and enhance them to comply with the regulations.

As part of an enhanced client onboarding process, additional documentation may be requested for clients holding accounts at Rakuten Securities HK. For instance, Rakuten Securities HK may need to obtain tax forms (i.e. W9/W8 series documents) after July 1, 2014, from both new and existing accountholders in order to identify the client’s tax classification.

In what cases do I need to submit a Form W-9/W8-BEN/W8-BEN-E to Rakuten Securities HK?

In order to determine if tax withholding is applicable, Rakuten Securities HK must authenticate the residency of its accountholders. For instance, if an account is held by a non U.S. citizen or non U.S. registered business entity, Rakuten Securities HK may require a Certification of Foreign Status, such as Form W8-BEN or W8-BEN-E for the account. Similarly, if an account is held by a U.S. citizen, U.S. resident alien or U.S. business entity, the accountholder may be required to certify his/her tax status by completing a Form W-9.

How will I know what Form to complete?

U.S. citizens or corporations may complete a W-9 form.

Instructions for non-US citizens or corporations can be found in detail here, and are generally outlined below for your convenience:

  • W-8BEN – non-US individual (unless individual falls under below classification)
  • W-8BEN-E – non-US entity (unless entity falls under below classification)
  • W-8ECI – non-US person with claim that income is effectively connected with the conduct of a trade or business in the United States
  • W-8IMY – non-US intermediary, non-US flow-through entity, or non-US trust
  • W-8EXP – non-US government, international organizations, non-US central banks of issue, non-US tax-exempt organizations, non-US private foundations, or governments of US possessions

The outline provided above is not intended to be exhaustive and is not warranted or guaranteed by Rakuten Securities HK as to its completeness or accuracy. For assistance with selecting and completing the tax Form applicable to you, please consult a qualified tax professional.

Will Rakuten Securities HK withhold taxes on my account?

Under the new FATCA regulations, withholdable payments do not include foreign exchange payments. Although gains on foreign exchange contracts are generally reported to the IRS as gross proceeds, FATCA regulations appear to apply to proceeds from the sale or disposition of property capable of producing interest or dividends from sources within the United States. Of note, this is subject to change if FATCA regulations are amended or revised. Please consult a qualified tax professional for additional assistance.

What is an Intergovernmental Agreement or IGA?

An Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) is a bilateral agreement between the U.S. government and a country’s tax authority that facilitates compliance with FATCA. More than 50 countries are currently negotiating an IGA.

  • In countries with a Model 1 IGA, FFIs will comply under local legislation and report to their local tax authority; in turn, the local tax authority will exchange information with IRS.
  • In countries with a Model 2 IGA, FFIs will comply with local legislation to enter into agreements with, and report directly to the IRS.

What is the timeline for FATCA?

Rakuten Securities HK is carefully analyzing the final regulations and IGAs. Current timelines indicate global compliance on or about July 1, 2014. Rakuten Securities HK will update the clients that are impacted by FATCA once details are finalized.

Where can I find more information about FATCA?

The IRS website offers additional information regarding FATCA compliance. You may also reference the U.S. Department of Treasury website for supplementary information on IGAs.

Ŧ Only available for clients who hold a Rakuten FX account.
¤ Fixed spreads are offered in Rakuten FX account during at least 95% of the time of the monthly core-time trading period (8am to 2am HKT of every trading day). Spreads shown above and in our website are for reference only and are not guaranteed and may widen beyond the average spreads depending on the market volatility, especially under circumstances of extremely low liquidity, news events or public holidays. Please always refer to the trading platforms for the most updated spreads.
ɞ Order execution rate is calculated based on the AS Streaming and Streaming trading orders in 10k or less order size with lower than 1 pip slippage setting in which were executed during the period between Jan 1 to Nov 1, 2017.
§ Rakuten Securities HK offers Trading Station platform through its partner FXCM.
※ Commission is charged per trade side on both open trade(s) and close trade(s). All commission fees may be subject to change from time to time without prior notice. Please always refer to the most updated Schedule of Standard Fees and Charges.
ʊ MARKETSPEED FX platform is the winner of “Online Forex Trading Platform” by Good Design Award in 2012.
To safeguard your trading account(s), you are highly recommended to set a strong password and change it regularly.

When executing customers’ trades, Rakuten Securities HK can be compensated in several ways, which include, but are not limited to: charging fixed lot-based commissions at the open and close of a trade, adding a markup to the spreads, acting as a counterparty in the transactions. As a result, Rakuten Securities HK’s interests may be in conflict with yours.

Rakuten Securities Hong Kong Limited (“Rakuten Securities HK” SFC CE Number: AIM232) is a wholly owned subsidiary of Rakuten Securities, Inc. (*) Rakuten Securities, Inc., one of the major online brokers in Japan, founded in 1999, is a subsidiary of Rakuten, Inc. (TOKYO: 4755).
The risk of loss in leveraged foreign exchange trading can be substantial. You may not be suitable as you may sustain losses in excess of your initial margin funds. Leverage can work against you. Placing contingent orders, such as “stop-loss” or “stop-limit” orders, will not necessarily limit losses to the intended amounts. Market conditions may make it impossible to execute such orders. You may be called upon at short notice to deposit additional margin funds. If the required funds are not provided within the prescribed time, your position may be liquidated. You will remain liable for any resulting deficit in your account. You should therefore carefully consider whether such trading is suitable in light of your own financial position and investment objectives. Do not speculate with capital that you cannot afford to lose. If you decide to trade products offered by Rakuten Securities HK, you must read and understand the information and disclosure provided by Rakuten Securities HK. Rakuten Securities HK may provide general commentary which is not intended as investment advice and must not be construed as such. Seek advice from a separate financial advisor. Rakuten Securities HK and Rakuten Group assumes no liability for errors, inaccuracies or omissions; does not warrant the accuracy, completeness of information, text, graphics, links or other items contained within these materials. Read and understand the Terms and Conditions on Rakuten Securities HK’s website prior to taking further action.
Information Security on Internet: To protect your privacy, do not access your trading account via public or shared computer or save your password locally in any computer or mobile device after logging in. Rakuten Securities HK will never ask you to send any of your personal information such as account number and password to us directly via e-mails.
(*)Company Registration ID (in Japan): Kanto Local Finance Bureau (Financial Instruments Firms) No.195

通知公告信息 :土耳其总统大选将于2018年6月24日 (当地时间) 举行。请留意外汇市场变化,尤其是土耳其货币里拉及欧元;严密监控自己的仓位,及确保账户有足够保证金。

外国账户税务遵守法案 (FATCA)

什么是FATCA?

FATCA的全称是外国账户税务遵守法案 (Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act),简称是(FATCA)。它于2009年10月被引入,并于2010年3月签署为法例,以作为奖励聘雇恢复就业法案(Hiring Incentives to Restore Employment (HIRE) Act)的一部份。

FATCA是为了防止持有外国账户或离岸投资的美国公民或居民逃税而设的。根据新FATCA规例,外国金融机构(FFIs)必须识别出美国账户持有人及由美国控制的实体(即持有实体重大拥有权权益的美国人士),然后向税务局(IRS)提供其于该财政年度内的资产、收入款项及交易流资料。FATCA的各项规例一般于或大约于2014年7月1日起生效。

FATCA对乐天证券香港及其客户有什么影响?

为了符合FATCA的规定,乐天证券香港本身的外国金融机构必须与IRS注册。此外,FATCA规例要求乐天证券香港审核现有的客户开户及预扣程序,以及作出改进以使有关程序符合规例。

作为经改进客户开户程序的一部份,持有乐天证券香港账户的客户可能会被要求提供额外文件。例如,乐天证券香港在2014年7月1日之后可能需要向新及现有账户持有人索取税务表格(即W9/W8系列文件),以识别客户的税务类别。

我在什么情况下需要向乐天证券香港提交W-9/W8-BEN/W8-BEN-E表格?

为了厘定预扣税是否适用,乐天证券香港必须核实账户持有人的居住地。例如,假如账户是由非美国公民或非美国注册商业实体持有,乐天证券香港可能会要求有关人士就账户提供外国身份证明,例如W8-BEN或W8-BEN-E表格。同样地,假如账户是由美国公民、美国居民外籍人士或美国商业实体持有,账户持有人可能需要填写W-9表格以证明其税务身份。

如何知道我应填写哪份表格?

美国公民或法团可填写W-9 form(只提供英文版)

非美国公民或法团的指示可于此处(只提供英文版)查看;为方便您参阅,有关详情现概述如下∶

  • W-8BEN - 非美国个别人士(符合以下分类的个别人士则除外)
  • W-8BEN-E - 非美国实体(符合以下分类的实体则除外)
  • W-8ECI - 声称收入实际上是与一项在美国境内进行的交易或业务有关的非美国人士
  • W-8IMY 非美国中介人、非美国流通实体或非美国信托
  • W-8EXP 非美国政府、国际组织、非美国中央发钞银行、非美国免税组织、非美国私人基金会或美国占有的政府机关

以上概述并非钜细无遗,乐天证券香港并未对其完整性或准确性作出保证或担保。如在选择及填写适用于您的税务表格时需要协助,请谘询合资格的税务专业人士。

乐天证券香港将会在我的账户预扣税项吗?

根据新FATCA规例,可预扣的款项并不包括外汇款项。虽然外汇合约的收益一般会作为总收益向IRS汇报,但FATCA规例似乎适用于来自销售或处置能够自美国境内来源产生利息或股息的物业的收益。值得注意的是,如FATCA规例有所修订或修改,这将可予以更改。如需进一步协助,请谘询合资格税务专业人士。

什么是跨政府协议或IGA?

跨政府协议(IGA)是美国政府与某一国家促进符合FATCA规定的税务机构之间订立的双边协议。逾50个国家目前正在磋商IGA。

  • 于模型1 IGA国家,外国金融机构将会遵守当地法例及向当地税务机构作出汇报;接着,当地税务机构将会与IRS交换资料。
  • 于模型2 IGA国家,外国金融机构将会遵守当地法例与IRS订立协议及向IRS直接汇报。

FATCA的实施时间是何时?

乐天证券香港正仔细分析最终规例及IGA。目前的时间表显示全球符合法规的日期是或大约是2014年7月1日。乐天证券香港将于详情落实后通知受FATCA影响的客户。

我可以在哪里找到关于FATCA的进一步资料?

IRS 网站(只提供英文版)提供关于FATCA合规的进一步资料。您亦可以参阅美国财政部网站(只提供英文版)上关于IGA的补充资料。

^ 乐天证券在2017年3月获 Finance Magnates 评为全球第三大零售外汇经纪商。
Ŧ 只限持有乐天FX交易账户的客户。
¤ 乐天FX交易账户于每个月的主要交易时段 (每个交易日香港时间早上8时至凌晨2时) 当中最少95%的时间提供固定买卖差价。以上及网站内的买卖差价只供参考,尤其在特低流通量、突发新闻或公众假期的情况下,差价可因市场波动性变化而改变,并无保证。最新差价以交易平台所示者为准。
ɞ 交易执行率是根据2017年1月1日至11月1日期间,每手10k或以下且滑点设于1点而获执行的AS Streaming及Streaming交易单子计算得出。
§ 乐天证券香港透过合作伙伴福汇(FXCM)提供TS交易平台。
※ 交易费收费是根据开仓交易及平仓交易单边计算。所有交易费收费可随时予以更改,而毋须事先作出通知。请不时参阅乐天证券香港网站上最新的标准费用及收费表
ʊ MARKETSPEED FX为于2012年获颁优秀设计奖的「网上交易平台」
为保障您的乐天证券香港交易账户,我们强烈建议客户定期更新及设立一个保安程度较高的密码。

当执行客户的交易指令时,乐天证券香港可透过不同方式获取报酬,包括但不限于:就每手开仓及平仓收取的固定交易费、标高报价的点子、作为交易对手。故此,乐天证券香港的利益与阁下的利益可能会有所冲突。

乐天证券香港有限公司(「乐天证券香港」,证监会中央编号:AIM232)乃乐天证券株式会社(*)的全资附属公司。乐天证券株式会社于1999年成立,为日本其中一家主要网上经纪商,并且为乐天株式会社(TOKYO: 4755)的附属公司。
槓杆式外汇交易的亏损风险可能会十分重大。阁下所蒙受的亏损可能会超过阁下的初始保证金款额,因此未必适合阁下。槓杆可能会为阁下带来负面影响。即使建立附带条件的指令,例如「止损」或「限价」单,亦未必可以将亏损限于阁下原定的金额。市况可能会导致有关指令无法执行。阁下可能会在短时间内被要求存入额外保证金款额。如果阁下未能在指定时间内提供所需资金,阁下的持仓可能会被平仓。阁下将须为阁下账户内因此而产生的任何短欠数额负责。因此,阁下必须根据本身的财务状况及投资目标,仔细考虑这种交易是否适合阁下。切勿将阁下无法承受损失的资金用于投机。倘若阁下决定买卖乐天证券香港所提供的产品,阁下必须先阅读及明白乐天证券香港所提供的资料及披露。乐天证券香港可能会提供并非拟作为投资建议且不得被诠释为投资建议的一般评论。请向独立财务顾问寻求意见。乐天证券香港及乐天集团对于资料错误、不准确或遗漏概不承担法律责任,并且不保证其中所载信息、文字、图表、连结或其他项目准确或完整。请于採取进一步行动前先阅读及瞭解乐天证券香港网站上的「条款及条件」。
互联网资料安全:为保障阁下的私隐,切勿透过公共或共享电脑登入阁下的交易账户,或于登入账户后将阁下的密码储存于任何电脑或流动装置之内。乐天证券香港不会要求阁下透过电邮直接将例如账户号码及密码等任何个人资料传送予本公司。
(*)公司注册编号(日本):関东财务局(金融工具公司)第195号