Free Forex Seminars | Forex Education | Forex Trading | Market Analysis  | Forex Strategy | Rakuten Securities Hong Kong
Rakuten FX Platform: 1-on-1 Training
Free FX Seminar / Webinar
Open an Account
Contact Us

Register MARKETSPEED FX Demo
(Desktop Platform)


Initial Margin*
USD 10K USD 50K USD 100K
Although demo accounts attempt to replicate real-time market scenarios, they are based on simulated market environment. As such, there are key differences that distinguish it from a live account; including but not limited to, the lack of dependence on real-time market liquidity, delay or difference in pricing and spread. The operational capabilities when executing orders in a demo environment may result in atypically expedited transactions, lack of rejected orders, and/or the absence of slippage. Additionally, updates to demo account may not coincide with those of live accounts.
Help
1

Basic Concepts



What Is Forex?

Example: Imagine a situation where the U.S. dollar is expected to weaken in value relative to the euro. A forex trader in this situation will sell dollars and buy euros. If the euro strengthens, the purchasing power to buy dollars has now increased. The trader can now buy back more dollars than they had to begin with, making a profit.

Forex/ FX is a commonly used abbreviation for "foreign exchange". It typically describes trading in the foreign exchange market, especially by investors and speculators. "Buy Low and Sell High" means a forex trader purchases currencies that are undervalued and sells currencies that are overvalued; just as stock trader purchases stock that is undervalued and sells stock that is overvalued.

This is similar to stock trading. Stock traders buy a stock if they its price will rise, and vice versa. Forex traders employ this same pattern- to buy a currency pair if its exchange rate will rise and to sell a currency pair if its exchange rate will fall.

Exchange Rate

Exchange rate is the relative value of different currencies which are determined by a decentralized foreign exchange marketplace. Unlike other markets, there is no centralized depository or exchange where transactions are conducted. Instead, these transactions are conducted by several market participants in several locations. It is rare that any two currencies will be identical to one another in value, and it’s also rare that any two currencies will maintain the same relative value for more than a short period of time. In forex, the exchange rate between two currencies constantly changes.

Example: In November 2015, one euro was worth about $1.05. By April 2016, one euro was worth about $1.16. The euro increased in value by about 10.5% relative to the U.S. dollar during this time.

A currency's value fluctuates as its supply and demand fluctuates.

  • An increase in supply or a decrease in demand for a currency can cause the value of that currency to fall.
  • A decrease in the supply or an increase in demand for a currency can cause the value of that currency to rise.

A big benefit to forex trading is that you can buy or sell any currency pair, at any time subject to available liquidity. So if you think the Eurozone is going to break apart, you can sell the euro and buy the dollar (sell EUR/USD). If you think the price of gold is going to go up, based on historical correlation patterns you can buy the Australian dollar and sell the U.S. dollar (buy AUD/USD).


Why Trade Forex?

Online forex trading has become very popular in the past decade because it offers traders several unique advantages. Learn more of its advantages by comparing equities which is one of the most common financial products.

Experience and knowledge in trading and analyzing stocks can easily be transferred to the forex market. Many of the economic indicators familiar to equity traders, such as payroll data and interest rates, affect the currency markets. Also, many technical traders would find the forex market to be particularly attractive, since currencies respond well to many of the common technical indicators, such as MACD, RSI, and Candlestick charting.

Forex vs. Stocks Advantages
Advantage Forex Market Stock Market
Trade Around the Clock Yes Limited
Low Trading Cost Yes Relatively higher
Unlimited Short-selling Yes No
Market Liquidity High Low
Market Information Easily Available Yes
(focusing on 6 major currencies)
Partially yes
(too many stocks to choose from; some vital information is proprietary or private)

Forex Never Sleeps

Trading goes on all around the world during different countries’ business hours. Trader can trade major currencies at any time, 24 hours per day. With the ability to trade around the clock, currency traders have the advantage of customizing their own trading schedule; they can usually get in or out of the market at any time without waiting for an opening bell or encountering a market gap. While trading stocks after usual market hours is possible, very often that possibility is negated by a lack of order flow or a drastic widening of the bid-ask spread.

Account Type Rakuten FX Trading Station§
Commission 0 commission Low & fixed commission
Spread Tight & fixed Spread Raw spreads
  Account Details Account Details

Low Trading Cost

No expensive exchange fees or custody fees are associated with most forex accounts. At Rakuten Securities HK, there are two types of account for selection that both charge very low trading cost:

Go Long or Short

Unlike the equity market, there are no limitations on short selling in the forex currency market, no matter which way the market is moving. If you think a currency will go up, buy it. If you think it will fall, sell it. This means there is no such thing as a bear market in forex - you can make (or lose) money any time.

Unmatched Market Liquidity

Forex market size is huge as $4 trillion a day. Its size, plus the fact that most trading concentrated in only a few currencies, makes it available to a lot of traders without any constraint on trade size, time or getting in and out the market.

Information Accessibility

Forex traders may only focus six major currencies to research. Virtually all of the news that bears on the forex market is in publicly disseminated reports from governments or research institutions, and released to everybody at the same time.

Information about stocks is abundant, but so are the stocks. Finding a trade opportunity in the equities markets may mean sifting through data on thousands of stocks. Additionally, the vital information that moves equity markets, such as revenues and profits, is proprietary and private.


Basic Concepts

Learning to trade in a new market is like learning to speak a new language. It's easier when you have a good vocabulary and understand some basic ideas and concepts. So let's start with the basics of forex trading

Currency Symbols

3-letter symbols are commonly used to denote currencies such as USD for the US dollar and EUR for the Euro.

CURRENCY SYMBOL CURRENCY SYMBOL
US dollar USD Canadian Dollar CAD
European Euro EUR Australian Dollar AUD
British Pound GBP New Zealand Dollar NZD
Japanese Yen JPY Norwegian Krone NOK
Swiss Franc CHF Hong Kong Dollar HKD
Chinese Yuan CNH Mexican Peso MXN
Swedish Krona SEK Turkish Lira TRY
South African Rand ZAR Singaporean Dollar SGD

Currency Pairs

Currencies are quoted in pairs, such as EUR/USD or USD/JPY. The first listed currency is known as the base currency, while the second is called the counter or quote currency. The base currency is the "basis" for the buy or the sell.

Example: If you BUY or "GO LONG ON" EUR/USD you buy Euros (and simultaneously sell dollars). You would do so in expectation that the euro will appreciate (go up) relative to the US dollar. On the other hand if you thought that there were reasons that demand for dollars would rise compared to the Euro you would SELL or 'SHORT" EUR/USD (selling Euros for dollars).

Price Quote

Forex is quoted in pairs, how much one unit of the base (first listed) currency is worth in counter/ quote (second listed) currency.

Example: The EUR/USD at 1.4022 shows how much one euro (EUR) is worth in us dollars (USD). Therefore, 1 EUR = 1.4022 USD

Lot Size

A lot is the smallest trade size available. Rakuten Securities HK accounts have a lot size of 1K (1,000) units of currency. Account holders can however place trades of different sizes, so long as they are in increments of 1K units like, 2K, 3K, 15K, 112K etc.


Example: Spread of EUR/USD is
0.9 pips which is 0.00009 EUR.

Spreads

Just like in all markets, there are two prices- buy and sell, for every currency pair. The difference between the buy price and sell price is the spread, or the cost of the trade. On a Rakuten Securities HK 1K lot size USD-denominated account, a pip on the EUR/USD currency pair is worth US$0.1.

Pip

A pip is the unit used for counting profit or loss. Most currency pairs are quoted to four decimal places, except Japanese yen pairs. This fourth spot after the decimal point (at one 100th of a cent) is typically what one watches to count "pips". Every point that place moves is 1 pip of movement.

Example: EUR/USD rises from 1.4022 to 1.4027, the EUR/USD has risen 5 pips.

Leverage and Margin

At Rakuten Securities HK, leverage of 20:1 allows you to trade with $1,000 in the market by setting aside only $50 as a security deposit. All trades are executed using borrowed money. This allows you to take advantage of leverage. This means that you can take advantage of even the smallest movements in currencies by controlling more money in the market than you have in your account. On the other hand, leverage can significantly increase your losses. Trading foreign exchange with any level of leverage may not be suitable for all investors.

The specific amount that you are required to put aside to hold a position is referred to as your margin requirement. Margin can be thought of as a good faith deposit required to maintain open positions. This is not a fee or a transaction cost, it is simply a portion of your account equity set aside and allocated as a margin deposit.
Rakuten FX Margin Trading Station Margin

In short, the leverage ratio is determined by the % of margin requirement as you use margin to create leverage.

Rollover Interest

Traders holding positions for more than one day will receive or pay the interest difference between the two currencies in the pair they are trading. Though daily interest is tiny, leverage* can make this interest significant.
Rakuten FX Rollover Trading Station Rollover

* Without proper risk management, this high degree of leverage can lead to large losses as well as gains.



Margin

Forex Trading Margins

Rakuten Securities HK offers leveraged* currency trading with the leverage level at 5% per lot (20:1 leveraging, the maximum allowed by the SFC regulations).

Requirements for leverage may be changed from time to time at the sole discretion of Rakuten Securities HK, based on volume traded and market conditions.

  • Minimum Initial Margin Level – 5%
    In order to open a new position, available account equity must exceed initial margin level requirement. The initial margin level requirement is 5% of open positions value.

  • Minimum Maintenance Margin Level – 3%
    When the equity of an account falls below the maintenance margin level requirements, Rakuten Securities HK has the right at its discretion to close open positions until account equity exceeds the maintenance margin level requirement. The maintenance margin level requirement is 3% of open positions value.

  • Minimum Liquidation Margin Level – 2%
    When the equity of an account falls below the liquidation margin level requirement, Rakuten Securities HK will automatically close all open positions in the account. The liquidation margin level is 2% of open positions value.

Minimum Initial Margin Level 5% of Open position value
Minimum Maintenance Margin Level 3% of Open position value
Minimum Liquidation Margin Level 2% of Open position value
Rakuten FX Margin Trading Station Margin

Rollover

Rollover Interest on Forex Positions

Rollover is the interest paid or earned for holding an open position overnight. Each currency has an interest rate associated with it, and may vary on a day-to-day basis. Forex is traded in pairs, every trade involves not only two different currencies, but their two different interest rates. In short, rollover is calculated based on the interest rate differential between the two currencies.

Most banks across the globe are closed on Saturdays and Sundays, so there is no rollover on these days, but most banks still apply interest for those two days. To account for that, the forex market books three days of rollover on Wednesdays. Likewise, there is no rollover on holidays, but an extra day's worth of rollover two business days before the holiday. Typically, holiday rollover happens if any of the currencies traded has a major holiday.

Rollover can add a significant extra cost or profit to your trade.

Timing of Rollover

The schedule of rollover credit or debit is different for Rakuten FX and Trading Station platforms, please click the corresponding link for details:

Rakuten FX Schedule  Trading Station Schedule



Enjoy up to HK$1,000 Account Opening Offer
Free Education Resources to Learn FX Trading
Regular Seminar Schedule Weekly FX Market Analysis
Platform Training or Demo Open an account

基本概念 | 外匯教學 | 貨幣對 | 槓桿 | 保證金 | 過夜利息 | 樂天證券香港
樂天FX交易平台:單對單指導
免費外匯講座 / 視像教學
開立賬戶
聯絡我們

登記MARKETSPEED FX模擬賬戶
(桌面版)


10,000美金 50,000美金 100,000美金

1

基本概念



甚麼是外匯?

例子: 假設預期美元相對於歐元的價值將會走弱。在這個情況下,外匯交易者將會賣出美元及買入歐元。若歐元走強,買入美元的購買力現在增加。跟一開始相比,交易者現在可以買回更多美元,因而獲利。

Forex/ FX是「外匯」的常用簡稱,它一般用來形容特別是投資者及投機者在外匯市場進行外匯交易。「低買高賣」即是外匯交易者買入價格偏低的貨幣及賣出價格偏高的貨幣,就像股票交易者買入價格偏低的股票及賣出價格偏高的股票。

這跟股票交易相若。假如股票交易者認為某隻股票的價格將會在未來上升,他將會買入股票,而假如他認為某隻股票的價格將會在未來下跌,他將會賣出股票。同樣地,假如外匯交易者預期某貨幣對的匯率將會在未來上升,他將會買入該個貨幣對,而假如他預期某貨幣對的匯率將會在未來下跌,他將會賣出該個貨幣對。

匯率

外匯市場是一個釐定不同貨幣的相對價值的環球分散市場。有別於其他市場,外匯並沒有中央集中處理存管或兌換。相反,這些交易是由幾個地方幾個市場參與者進行的。任何兩種貨幣的價值與另一者相同的情況十分罕見,而任何兩種貨幣維持相同相對價值超過一段短時間的情況亦十分罕見。就外匯來說,兩種貨幣之間的匯率經常都在轉變。

例子: 於2015年11月,1歐元約值1.05美元。於2016年4月,1歐元約值1.16美元。在這段時間,歐元相對於美元的價值上升了約10.5%。

貨幣的價值會跟隨其供應及需求的波動而波動。

  • 某貨幣的供應增加或需求下跌可能會導致該貨幣的價值下跌。
  • 某貨幣的供應下跌或需求增加可能會導致該貨幣的價值上升。

外匯交易的一大好處是您可以視乎可得流通量而定而買入或賣出任何貨幣對。因此,假如您認為歐元區將會瓦解,您可以賣出歐元並買入美元(賣出歐元/美元)。假如您認為金價將會上升,根據歷史關聯繫數型態,您可以買入澳元及賣出美元(買入澳元/美元)。


為何買賣外匯?

網上外匯交易在過去十年變得十分受歡迎,原因是它為交易者提供了多個獨特好處。您可將外匯跟最流行的投資產品之一的股票比較,便知道外匯優勝之處。

分析股票時所汲取到的知識及經驗,可以輕易地套用在外匯市場之上。一些股票交易者耳熟能詳的經濟指標,例如薪酬數據及利率,亦都會影響外匯市場。此外,不少技術交易者亦都認為外匯市場甚具吸引力,因為外匯對不少常用的技術指標的敏感度都甚高,例如移動平均匯聚背馳指數(MACD)、相對強弱指標(RSI)及蠟燭圖等。

外匯的優勝之處
優勢 外匯市場 股票市場
24小時交易 有限
低固定交易費/佣金 較高
並無限制賣空交易 不是
市場流通量
輕易取得市場資訊
(主要6種貨幣)
不一定
(股票數量太多,部分重要資訊屬專有及私人性質)

外匯市場不停運作

交易在不同國家的辦公時間在世界各地進行。因此,您可以每日24小時隨時買賣主要貨幣。由於可以24小時進行交易,外匯交易者的優勢是可以自訂交易時間表,能在任何時間入市或離場,而無須等待開市或遇到市場空檔期。雖然股票可以在一般開市時間後買賣,但這種可能性往往會因為單子流量不足或買賣差價顯著擴大而不會出現。

賬戶 樂天FX賬戶 TS賬戶§
交易費 0 交易費 低固定交易費
買賣差價 特低固定差價 成本差價
  賬戶資訊 賬戶資訊

低固定交易費

大部分的外匯賬戶都沒有收取高昂的兌換或存倉費用。而樂天證券香港更提供兩種外匯交易賬戶,只收取特低的交易成本:

可以買入或賣出

有別於很多其他難以進行沽空的金融市場,沽出外幣並無任何限制。若您認為某貨幣將會上升,買入該貨幣。若您認為某貨幣將會下跌,賣出該貨幣。這表示外匯並無所謂的「熊市」- 您可以隨時獲利(或虧損)。

無可比擬的流通量

由於外匯市場每日交易量達4萬億美元,而大部份交易只集中於少數貨幣之上,因此經常都有數量龐大批人士進行交易。這使交易者一般都能輕易地隨時,甚至以大額,進場或離場。

輕易取得外匯市場資訊

外匯交易者可集中對六種主要貨幣進行研究,幾乎所有有關外匯市場的消息都載於政府或研究機構向外公開的報告之中,並且在同一時間向每一個人公布。

有關股票的資訊充足,惟股票的數量同時亦多不勝數。在股票市場尋找交易機會可能需要篩選數以千計的股票數據,但外匯交易者卻只需對六隻主要貨幣進行研究。此外,導致股票市場出現變動的主要資訊,例如收入及盈利,均屬專有及私人性質。


基本概念

學習在一個新市場進行交易就好像學習說一種新語言一樣。當您具備良好的詞彙及了解一些基本觀點和概念時,就可以事半功倍。所以,大家不妨由外匯交易的基礎知識開始。

貨幣英文縮寫

各種貨幣普遍以三個英文字母表示,例如USD表示美元,而EUR則表示歐元。

貨幣 英文縮寫 貨幣 英文縮寫
美元 USD 加元 CAD
歐元 EUR 澳元 AUD
英鎊 GBP 紐元 NZD
日圓 JPY 挪威克朗 NOK
瑞郎 CHF 港元 HKD
離岸人民幣 CNH 墨西哥披索 MXN
瑞典克朗 SEK 土耳其里拉 TRY
南非蘭特 ZAR 新加坡元 SGD

貨幣對

貨幣的匯價是以一對的方式表示,如歐元兌美元或美元兌日圓。貨幣對所列的第一隻貨幣稱為「基礎貨幣」,而第二隻稱為相對或報價貨幣。基礎貨幣是買入或賣出的「基準」。

例子: 如果您預期歐元相對於美元會升值,那麼你會買入歐元/美元,表示您買入了歐元(同時間賣出美元)。另一方面,假如您認為有理由相信相對於歐元,美元需求將會上升,您便會賣出歐元/美元,表示您賣出歐元(同時買入美元)。

報價

外匯是以一對的形式報價的。報價是一個單位的基礎貨幣(第一隻貨幣)相等於多少個單位的相對或報價貨幣(第二隻貨幣)。

例子: 歐元/美元是1.4022,顯示出1歐元(EUR)約值多少美元(USD)。換言之,1歐元等於1.4022美元

交易單位

最小的交易單位為每一手。樂天證券香港賬戶的每一手是1K (1,000) 個單位的貨幣。不過,只要交易是1K個單位的遞增數目,例如2K、3K、15K、112K等,賬戶持有人便可以建立不同規模的交易。


例子: 買賣差價為0.9點,
即使0.00009歐元。

買賣差價

就像所有市場一樣,每一個貨幣對均有兩個價格。這兩個價格的差額就是買賣差價,或交易成本。在以下例子中,買賣差價為2.5點。在樂天證券香港每手交易單位為1K的美元結算賬戶中,歐元/美元貨幣對的1點相等於0.1美元。

點子

點子是您計算盈利或虧損的單位。大部份貨幣對(日圓貨幣對除外)的報價均達到第四個小數位。小數點後第四個位(一百分之一仙)一般就是交易者計算「點子」時會留意的地方。報價中該個位置每一點的變動就是1點的變動。

例子: 假若歐元/美元由1.4022上升至1.4027,歐元/美元已上升了5點子。

槓桿及保證金

透過樂天證券香港交易外匯,20:1的槓桿讓您只需存放50美元作為保證金就可在市場中以1,000美元進行交易。這表示您可以藉著在市場中控制較您的賬戶為多的資金以利用幾乎是最小的貨幣變動。另一方面,槓桿可能會大幅增加您的虧損。利用任何水平的槓桿進行外匯交易未必適合所有投資者。

您為了持有一個持倉而必須撥出的特定金額稱為保證金。保證金可以視作維持開倉部位所須的實際押金。這並非一項收費或交易成本,只是將您的賬戶淨值的一部份撥出及分配為保證金存款。
樂天 FX保證金 TS保證金

簡單而言,槓桿是由保證金產生的,所以槓桿比例是取決於保證金的百分比。

過夜利息

交易者持倉超過一日,將會收取或支付他們所買賣的貨幣對當中兩個貨幣之間的息差。 雖然每日利息微小,但槓桿*效應可以令利息顯著增大。
樂天 FX過夜利息 TS過夜利息

* 沒有適當的風險管理,此高度槓桿效應可能導致產生重大損失或盈利。



保證金

外匯交易保證金

樂天證券香港提供的槓桿*外匯交易,保證金要求為相等於開倉價值的5%(20:1)的槓桿,即證監會規例准許的上限)。

樂天證券香港亦有全權酌情權根據交易量及市況而調整保證金要求。

  • 初始保證金最低要求水平-5%
    賬戶淨值必須超過初始保證金水平以建立新倉,初始保證金要求是倉位價值的5%。

  • 維持保證金最低要求水平-3%
    當賬戶淨值下跌至低於維持保證金水平,樂天證券香港有權決定將開倉部位平倉,直至賬戶淨值超過維持保證金水平為止。維持保證金的要求是開倉部位淨值的3%。

  • 自動結算保證金最低要求水平-2%
    當賬戶淨值下跌至低於自動結算保證金水平,樂天證券香港將會自動將賬戶內的所有開倉部位平倉,而自動結算保證金水平是開倉淨值的2%。

初始保證金最低要求水平 開倉淨值的5%
維持保證金最低要求水平 開倉淨值的3%
自動結算保證金最低要求水平 開倉淨值的2%
樂天FX保證金 TS保證金

過夜利息

外匯持倉的過夜利息

過夜利息指持倉過夜需要支付或者獲得的利息。每種貨幣都有本身的息率,而每日的息率都可能變動;因為每項外匯交易涉及兩種不同貨幣,所以買賣貨幣對涉及兩種不同貨幣及兩種不同的息率。總括而言,過夜利息的計算方法是基於兩種貨幣對的息率差異。

世界各地的大多數銀行都在星期六及星期日暫停營業,因此這兩天不計算外匯交易的持倉過夜利息,但大部分銀行仍然計算這兩天的利息。基於這個原因,外匯市場上將在星期三過夜的倉位計算三天的利息。同樣地,假日沒有過夜利息,但假日前兩個工作天計算額外一天的過夜利息。一般而言,交易涉及的貨幣遇上所屬國家的重要假日就會計算假日過夜利息。

過夜利息可能令您的交易成本或利潤顯著增加。

過夜利息時間

樂天FX與TS賬戶的未平倉部位正數或負數過夜利息是於不同時間結算,請按以下查看詳細時間表:

樂天FX過夜利息計算表  TS賬戶過夜利息計算表



樂天FX模擬比賽高達10,000港元獎賞 開立賬戶獎您高達1,000 港元
免費外匯教育資源
定期講座 每周匯市分析
平台操作指導、模擬賬戶 開立賬戶